Audi Q5 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Been itching to get rid of the silver trim on my car and after weighing up all the options i've decided to do it my self with Plasti Dip.

My aim is to do front grill, fog light grill, roof rails, rear roof spoiler, window trim and possibly my alloys.

I was aiming to do the grill and fog light grill at the same time but as I'm new to Plasti Dip i thought I would try the fog grills first, which I have now done.

Stock look
Automotive parking light Car Vehicle registration plate Vehicle Window

Masked up and applied 4 coats, each coat needs 20-30mins to dry.
Automotive parking light Vehicle registration plate Car Vehicle Grille

Finished result
Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Vehicle registration plate Car Vehicle

I will update this thread as I do more.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks @missile , I've watched many videos on Plasti Dip working well with alloys just not sure i'm confident enough to do it at the moment as you have to get really even coverage so its not thin in areas and potentially come of in spots. I'd personally rather have my wheels sprayed professionally but that will have to wait.

·
Registered
Audi SQ5 2015
2,219 Posts
Looks good (y) Would be interested to have an update on how long it lasts and/or holds up to road rash. Hopefully it holds up well.
Whats next wheels / roof rails?

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks @SQ-Raphster , Yeh will definitely report back on durability, already done a few motorway runs and a few hundred miles and so far so good. Either way its also very easy to touch up if theres some rips/damage.

Yes I may do the roof rails or window trim next, i would love to do the alloys but still feel like i need more practice first, so if i do them it will prob be one of the last things.