Audi Q5 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, has anyone swapped to winter tyres yet?

If so did you have any problems changing the wheels?
Any comments as to cleaning and storing the summer wheels/tyres over winter.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Hi, has anyone swapped to winter tyres yet?

If so did you have any problems changing the wheels?
Any comments as to cleaning and storing the summer wheels/tyres over winter.
Hi Shunter,
Living in Scotland I ordered winter wheels and tyres from Audi 9th March, when I ordered the Q5. The car's been here since Sept. 1st but wheels still haven't arrived!
I have a 'liftmaster tyre trolley' waiting in readiness but alas it stands empty! If I get them in time I will change end of November unless weather takes a downturn meantime.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Will be fitting mine end of November, they will come out of their comfy tyre warmer bags and have to work for a living for 4 months! Mind you my 20"ers are already getting twitchy about being in a warm garage with tyre covers

kc

·
Registered
130 Posts
Is anyone going to fit winter tyres on their 20" alloys or are you all getting a replacement (smaller) alloy + wheel set?

Really dumb question but do you change the wheels yourself with the crank? I'd be nervous about not tightening them properly as the pros all use air guns...

I'm wondering if it's worth it, living in Kent. It would have been last year but even if I had had winter tyres I likely wouldn't have used the car as they wouldn't give the other idiots on the road without them traction and prevent them sliding in to me!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Has anyone bought winter tyres to suit 18" alloys? ive got a set off wheels for when the Q comes but the price off tyres seems to be scarey? any recomendations?

James

·
Registered
124 Posts